The Beauty of Letting Go   Leave a comment

Lately I’ve been thinking about my inability to change. I absolutely deplore when my life goes through nearly any type of alteration. In the past five years, it seems like I’ve had a LOT of change:

*I moved from high school to college

*I then graduated from college to the “real world”

*Some friends simply aren’t around as much as they used to be

It is my first instinct to hold on to the familiar, to cling onto what I’m most used to. I’m one of those people who is messy not because I’m naturally disorganized, but because I so dislike getting rid of anything that holds meaning to me.

But today I had a revelation…

*When I moved to college, I became my own person, away from my family and old friends. Plus I got to make a lot of new friends who I actually have more in common

*When I graduated from college, I felt a sense of total independence I had never known, and it made me realize just how much I can do on my own

*The friends who aren’t around as much have made me appreciate those who are so much more now. That acknowledgement of their importance is something they all very much deserve

What I need to remember is that resisting changes that come into my life is something that requires way too much time, effort, and stress. As most of these alterations are beyond my control, why am I trying to fight them?

From now on, I vow to be more able to let go when parts of my life shift and to look at every change as an opportunity for a new adventure.


“Change is the essence of life. Be willing to surrender what you are for what you could become.”

–Author Unknown

Posted October 24, 2010 by touchofpositivity in Personal Reflection

Leave a Reply

